Monday’s Inner Peace

If I haven’t made it totally clear yet, Sunday and Monday are my least favorite days of the week. Today is no exception, starting with the discovery that someone stole the front light off my bike this morning…my fault for being trusting in my apartment building…but still. So in my internet travels today I came across the poem below, and its definitely put me a little more at peace.

My Symphony by William Ellery Channing

To live content with small means.
To seek elegance rather than luxury,
    and refinement rather than fashion.
To be worthy not respectable,
    and wealthy not rich.
To study hard, think quietly, talk gently,
    act frankly, to listen to stars, birds, babes,
    and sages with open heart, to bear all cheerfully,
    do all bravely, await occasions, hurry never.
In a word, to let the spiritual,
    unbidden and unconscious,
    grow up through the common.
This is to be my symphony.

One response to “Monday’s Inner Peace

  1. Me gusta! I feel you on the Mondays issue. I had to take Cal Train in from San Jose, and it makes my whole day draaaag. xo

Leave a Reply

