I Am Woman

Fun Fact: This was the first vinyl I ever bought, from a thrift store, I think when I was 15. Wow. Via.

Being the stats wiz that I am (inside joke – but I do really like stats), I’m usually skeptical of statistical figures that are reported in news segments such as this one. Still, even if the numbers are not as great as they are saying, there still may be something to be alarmed about – at least from my point of view.  I feel like I am opening up a can of worms here…and I hesitate to do so because this two-minute clip doesn’t nearly give what is needed to understand what is going on, yet I can’t help myself.

There is one little part of me that thinks this isn’t as big of an issue as it’s being made out to be, since they do state men lost twice as many jobs that women did when the recession hit.  On the other hand, it is hard out there, and it’s a fact that women today make 80 cents of every dollar that a man makes. I also have some very specific examples, which I will not go into here, that make my head want to explode. Regardless, this news clip throws so many different figures at you, and each one needs to be taken in its own context. There are some things I’d like more information about:

1. First, what population are they pulling from?  Are these numbers based off of all men and women employed in the United States? California?  The mid-west? They do imply nationally, but I’d like to know specifically for each stat they throw up on their screen.

2. What is their sample group? Is this woman who has submitted 2,000 applications and only had two telephone interviews an accurate representation of women currently job hunting? What’s her profession, her education? 2,000 applications!? She also looked like she was wearing business attire when they were interviewing her, yet, when they showed photos of men going back to work they were construction workers. Duh, women are going to be less prevalent in that career, so those numbers would make more sense. And how do numbers of applicants from each gender compare in terms of those hired?

Ugh, I’m just going to stop there because I could go on and on. Hopefully I have made some sense and you can see where I am going with this. I’m not trying to do an in-depth research project here, (although now I am really curious and want to look into it further) but just pointing out how frustrated I get sometimes by reports like this. You see, I always get all riled up from hearing about injustices happening to women, but then I have to stop and think, and try to figure out what’s really going on. It’s not to say that I’m not on the woman’s side.  Of course I am, but I want to hear accurate data, damn it, so I can make an informed opinion. But then why would I ever think I could do that from watching the news, or reading Yahoo.

I’ll try to find out more and expand on this issue…

 

One response to “I Am Woman

  1. Actually, I heard somewhere that you are actually editing your own Stats Textbook…

Leave a Reply

