I Heart Donostia – San Sebastian

It was fairly depressing (as it is not possible to get too depressed when visiting so many fantastic places) to me to have to leave such a beautiful, and relaxing place as San Sebastian. Sometimes a place just feels like home, and that is how I felt about it. There was a baby bawling its little eyes out when I got on the train to leave, and I could sympathize…ok, not really…just being dramatic. I really couldn’t wait for it to stop its wailing (I’m really in for it when I’m a parent with all my dissing on crying babies on this trip) but you get my drift.

In the four days and three nights I was in San Sebastian I met some awesome people, ate some delicious pinxtos (the basque word for tapas, don’t call them tapas if you come here) – even tried some kangaroo, so effin’ good!, got shitfaced (excuse my french) drunk one night with fellow travelers from my hostel and went out dancing (thanks goes to our host Gordon for showing us some cool local spots), oh and I laid on the beach…a lot. I highly recommend you visit here!

Now for the pics…most of which are beach shots since that’s where I spent the majority of my time…
1 thru 4 are from the first morning when I arrived in San Sebastian on the night train from Paris. I thought I could check-in to my hostel at 10am, but turned out that I had to come back at noon. It was a moody weather day, and looked like rain but that didn’t stop me from walking around and chilling out on the beach…until it got too rainy…
5. Me on my walk to the top of the hill to visit Jesus – I seriously cannot see without my sunglasses.
6. A peek through the trees of Playa de la Concha.
7. View of the city
8. View of the surf beach, Playa de Gros.
9. Another city shot.
10. As close as I got to Jesus.
11. Street view.
12 – 14. Playa de la Concha
15. The man watching over the city from atop the hill.
16. My view from the beach (you might have already seen it on Facebook) from Playa de Ondarreta.
17 & 18. Pics from my night walk along the Rio Itunes to the train station to catch the night train to Lisbon.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

UPDATE: Brian wants to go now too, so going back in June when he gets here!!

Posted from WordPress for Android

One response to “I Heart Donostia – San Sebastian

  1. those evening pictures look sooooo romantic. when brian arrives you two will have such a lovely time. i know it;)

Leave a Reply

