Capri and The Blue Grotto

I couldn’t wait to get out of Naples and back to Rome before heading to Croatia. But my roommates at the hostel had raved about their visit to Capri and the Blue Grotto, which they had visited when I had been in Pompei. So I decided to make a day of it.
I took the 10:30 am fast ferry over to the island which took about 45 mins. Apparently there are other ferries that are cheaper, but take more time (mine was 17 euro one way, ouch…but I had time constraints, meaning I didn’t want to be in Naples after dark). The ride over was warm and beautiful, and had views of Naples in probably the only way Naples looks appealing (god, I’m hating on Naples), and there were awesome views of My. Vesuvius as well. But pulling up to the island was the real treat with the way the clouds clung to the higher peaks, and the ocean was a gorgeous blue below, it was perfect.
Once on the island my main goal of the day was to make it to the Blue Grotto and back. Too optimistically I thought I could possibly make it back to Naples early enough to go to the museum where they have the plaster casts from Pompei.

To get to the Blue Grotto you have to take a little bus to Anacapri. Then find the bus for the blue grotto and take it out there. Then wait in line and get into a little dingy with a skilled blue grotto guide who will take you in and row you around in a couple circles while giving you some info on the cave.
Then its back to daylight!

By that time it was ready 2pm, so I grabbed a quick lunch and headed back on the bus to Anacapri. Then I waited an HOUR for the bus back down to where the ferries are. I didn’t get back to Naples until almost 6:30pm. It was a bummer I didn’t make the museum but Capri was well worth it. There is a lot more to do on Capri and it would be a cool place to go spend a couple romantic nights for sure. All in all I was on the train to Rome around 8pm completely satisfied with my day.

Note: I am posting what I have on my phone of inside the blue grotto, which did not capture it in all its brilliance…but it will have to do for now. You really have to go see it yourself anyway one day. 🙂

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

One response to “Capri and The Blue Grotto

  1. Yes, isn’t it gorgeous? We couldn’t get down to the Blue Grotto because the waves were reaaly high. But, we did take the chairlift up the hill. That was fun. Sorry you missed the Amalfi coast, but there’s always the next, and next, and next times.

Leave a Reply

