Pompei via Naples

I don’t have much to say about Naples besides it’s like Italy’s third-world city. They have an enormous trash problem, meaning it doesn’t get picked up and just sits around on the streets. It’s disgusting. Rumor has it this is because of mafia problems in the city. I didn’t meet any mob men (at least that I know of) and that could be highly due to the fact that I didn’t leave my hostel after 8pm at night. None of us staying there did. Luckily, I had two awesome roommates and the first night we had pizza, drank the last bottle of my Tuscan wine, and talked about our travels.

The next day I went on a day trip to Pompei! I have dreamed of going to Pompei since I was a little girl. Growing up we had boxed sets of National Geographic films and I can’t tell you how many times I watched the Mt. Vesuvius/Pompei one. It was extremely frightening to me, yet also intriguing, that a whole community could be wiped out in a few minutes by a volcano (I don’t think they knew it was a volcano, right?). In addition, those that perished were found in positions that leave you with a very human impression of just how surprising and terrifying this event was. I think when I go home I am going to find the video and watch it again. Needless to say I had HUGE expectations of visiting Pompei.

And visiting it pretty much lived up to those expectations…almost. The archeological area was waaaayy bigger than I had imagined. I spent at least 5 hours walking around all of it. The one downfall, in my mind, was that the plaster casts they had made of the bodies on site had been moved to a museum in Naples (except for three which I did see). So that is now the only draw for me to ever go back to Naples. Why they don’t have it in Pompei so it is easier for all the visitors to see is beyond me. My conspiracy theory is that the mafia made them do it so that tourists have to go there to see something worthwhile. Who knows.

Pics:
The first three are of Naples. I am sure there are some areas that look nicer, but I didn’t see them.
The rest are from the archeological ruins in Pompei with Mt. Vesuvius is the background (sorry, one pic wormed its way in twice, sneaky thing).

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 responses to “Pompei via Naples

  1. Sad that all the comments I heard about Naples are true and now your experience confirms it. I definitely would have loved to see Pompei…next trip! So glad you were able to make your dream come true. National Geographic boxed sets courteous of Grandma Carol.

  2. I loved Pompei and would go back. So did the girls and Uncle Mike. You are getting to see so much…it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

