Croatia: Split & Hvar

After two weeks it was time to leave Italy! From Rome I took a four hour train to Ancona to catch a overnight ferry to Split, Croatia. My good friends Karin and Adam had honeymooned there a few years back and highly recommended it. I had no set plans after Italy so I decided to go for it. Best decision ever.

I arrived in Split about 8am on the ferry. I hadn’t booked any place to stay yet, so I got cozy at a cafe for a little bit while I made my plans. I decided to stay one night in Split and then head to the island of Hvar the next day for two nights. I booked The Beach Hostel in Split which was only about a ten minute walk from where I was at. When I rang the bell I was greeted by the gracious Ladybird, who runs the hostel, with a big smile and a “Welcome home”. It felt so good to be there after being exhausted from my journey, plus I had been a little sad leaving Italy. I really can’t beleive that I only spent one night there because it felt like so much longer, and it felt like I was instantly friends with everyone in the place. That’s the magic of Ladybird.

That day you could’ve found me either on the beach, in the water playing a game of Croatian hand ball that is sort of similar to hacky sack (but I cannot remember the name), at the bar, or at a restaurant along the water eating yummy Croatian food. It was really rough.

The next day I took the hour long ferry to Hvar island. I stayed at yet another amazing hostel called the Villa Skanski, and actually two other people from The Beach Hostel showed up there that day as well. Villa Skanski is so nice for being a hostel. I think I spent half my time in Hvar on its balcony, drinking cheap beers and talking with new friends. It was just cheaper and more comfortable than the places in town, although of course I did get to some of them as well. I ended up staying one more night in Hvar than planned, and wish I could have stayed for longer (the story of my life these days).

Pics:

1. The ferry I took from Ancona, Italy to Split, Croatia
2. Sunrise over Croatia
3. My first look at the Croatian coastline
4. The “kissing area” on the boat. Complete with lone guy sleeping in a sleepingbag on the deck next to a bottle of beer.
5 & 6. The beach in Split I hung out at.
7. Divingboard into the ocean. Time to walk the plank!
8. The Beach Hostel gang.
9 & 10. Views of old town Split on my way to the ferry (you can see where my priorities lied).
11. The catamaran ferry to Hvar.
12-16. Around Hvar
17. View from the balcony at Villa Skanski
18-19. The little beach cove that was about a 20 minute walk from the hostel
20. Me on the walk back, just a little disheveled from being in the water, but se la vi!
21-22. On the most beautiful day imaginable, me and 5 other people rented a boat together to go explore some on the neighbouring islands. It was a little 6 horsepower boat, and we got passed up by everyone imaginable but so much fun! The only downside, being stuck on the boat with Capt. Douchebag. See if you can pick him out. He’s a whole story unto himself, and one that will not be told here. However, I became good friends with two cool Australian girls that day, so it all equaled out!
23-25. Views from the boat.
26. In Hvar.
27. Good times at Villa Skanski. Pictured are two US Marine’s and the owner of the hostel.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

One response to “Croatia: Split & Hvar

  1. Ahhhhh the beautiful,reasonably priced “other” Riviera. Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

