Sagrada Familia and Other Gaudi Architecture in Barcelona

 

I was in Barcelona twice. In early May after Lisbon and before Italy, and then for about one day in mid-june after Budapest when I met up with Brian before we headed off to San Sebastian (again). I didn’t really spark with Barcelona like a lot of people apparently do. I prefer Madrid. BUT, I really liked Gaudi and went to Sagrada Familia (his church) twice. That was the highlight of Barcelona for me. On my first visit I had taken a Gaudi walking tour, and the tour guide explained that people either think Gaudi was a genius or completely insane. She thinks both.  I happen to agree, but lean more toward the genius side.

Starting with the more simple to the incredibly ornate.  I am going to let the pictures speak for themselves. But just so you know, the first three houses were commissioned by the owners and lived in (yes, please!), but are now museums.

image
imageI was into the ornate metal work.
image
image

image
image
image
image
image
imageSagrada Familia.  The church that is still a work in progress. They estimate that it will be complete in about 22-30 years, if there are no more wars, or natural disasters that set them back.  Gaudi knew that he would not complete the construction of the church in his lifetime, but left plans for other architects. Unfortunately they were destroyed in the Spanish civil war, but after 10 years of research they gathered enough information from friends and colleagues to continue on. *Note: Neither one of my cameras could capture the splendor of this building.

Nativity Facade
image
image
image
image
image
imageI was trying to get a closeup of the serpents.
imageThe Passion Facade
image
image
image
image
image
imageAnd the interior.  Breathtaking. (I’ll update this with better pics later).
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

